The Sequoyah Book Award program encourages the students of Oklahoma to read books of literary quality.

Students in grades 3-5 who have read or listened to at least three titles from the Children’s Masterlist are eligible to vote for the Children’s Sequoyah Book Award.  Students who are eligible will vote in March 2016 and the winner will be announced in April 2019.

2018 winning title: Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

2017 winning title: The Doll Graveyard by Lois Ruby

2016 winning title: Chews Your Destiny by Rhode Montijo

2015 winning title: The One and only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

2014 winning title: Sidekicks by Dan Santat

2013 winning title: The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger

      Children’s Sequoyah Award Nominees for 2019

  1. Wishtree by Katherine Applegate
  2. Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library by Linda Bailey
  3. Crooked Sixpence by Jennifer Bell
  4. Ivy by Katherine Coville
  5. Dirt by Denise Gosliner Orenstein
  6. Superstar by Mandy Davis
  7. Genevieve’s War by Patricia Reilly Giff
  8. Great Treehouse War by Lisa Graff
  9. Someday Suitcase by Corey Ann Haydu
  10. Snow & Rose by Emily Winfield Martin
  11. Sergeant Reckless by Patricia McCormick
  12. How to Be An Elephant by Katherine Roy
  13. Lemons by Melissa Savage
  14. Joplin Wishing by Diane Stanley
  15. Dog Like Daisy by Kristin O’Donnell Tub


The first Sequoyah Children’s Book Award was  given in April, 1959, making the award the third oldest children’s choice award in the nation.

The award is given annually as an event at the Oklahoma Library Association’s Annual Conference.

THe Oklahoma Library Association honors Sequoyah for his unique achievement in creating the Cherokee syllabary, the 86 symbols representing the different sounds in the Cherokee language.

His statue is one of the two representing Oklahoma in the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C.

The son of a Cherokee mother and a white trader father, Sequoyah, Cherokee for “Lame One,” was also known by his English name, George Guess

A cabin built by Sequoyah as part of a United States government grant still stands near Sallisaw.  This grant was the first given for literary achievement in the United States.